No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us. If you do not want to receive such messages, tick here:
The World Cup of Snooker is a unique pairs event featuring 24 nations competing for glory in Wuxi, China in July.

First established in 1979, the event sees the two highest-ranked players representing their nation in four groups of six and each country playing the other once.

The top two in each group advance to the quarter-finals, where it is then a straight knock-out through to the final.

Whoever prevails in 2017 will find themselves in good company – joining the likes of Steve Davis, Stephen Hendry, Jimmy White, John Higgins and Alex Higgins on the list of previous winners.

Davis is the most successful player in the competition’s history, having won the title on four occasions with England.

Other than in 1984, the tournament was held annually until 1990, where Alex Higgins notoriously threatened to have Northern Ireland team-mate Dennis Taylor shot during a heated debate.

The event returned in 1996, when the mouth-watering Scottish trio of Stephen Hendry, John Higgins and Alan McManus were crowned champions, before Ding Junhui and Liang Wenbo claimed glory for China in the next edition 15 years later.

In 2015, Chinese teenagers Zhou Yuelong and Yan Bingtao announced themselves to the snooker world by going all the way to the title in front of their home fans – beating Scotland’s Higgins and Stephen Maguire in the final.

They will be hoping for the opportunity to defend their title when the tournament takes place from July 3-9 in Wuxi.

World Cup Snooker roll of honour

YearFinal Result
1979Wales 14-3 England
1980Wales 8-5 Canada
1981England 4-3 Wales
1982Canada 4-2 England
1983England 4-2 Wales
1985Ireland 9-7 England A
1986Ireland A 9-7 Canada
1987Ireland A 9-2 Canada
1988England 9-7 Australia
1989England 9-8 Rest of the World
1990Canada 9-5 Northern Ireland
1996Scotland 10-7 Republic of Ireland
2011China 4-2 Northern Ireland
2015China B 4-1 Scotland
2017China A 4-3 England

You have unread messages

You have unread messages