No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us. If you do not want to receive such messages, tick here:
The United Kingdom Championship is the second biggest ranking event on the snooker calendar and is one of the prestigious 'Triple Crown' events.

First held in 1977 and won by Patsy Fagan, the event was only granted ranking status in 1984.

In 2011 after a five-year absence, the event headed back to its' spiritual home - the revamped York Barbican Centre - where it witnessed bumper crowds and high quality matches throughout the week.

Memorable moments from the tournament include the 1983 final, in which Alex 'Hurricane' Higgins beat Steve Davis 16–15 after having trailed 7–0 at the end of the first session.

Whilst in 1988, Doug Mountjoy produced a wonderful display to beat rising star Stephen Hendry 16–12, becoming the second-oldest ever winner of a ranking event in the process.

Ronnie O'Sullivan was the youngest-ever winner of the tournament in 1993 at just 17 years of age.

The UK Championship is a Triple Crown event, an unofficial term used for professional snooker players who have won the World Championship, the Masters and the UK Championship.

Stephen Hendry, Steve Davis and Mark Williams have won all three Triple Crown events in a single season.

UK Championship Snooker roll of honour

YearFinal Result
1977Patsy Fagan 12-9 Doug Mountjoy
1978Doug Mountjoy 15-9 David Taylor
1979John Virgo 14-13 Terry Griffiths
1980Steve Davis 16-6 Alex Higgins
1981Steve Davis 16-3 Terry Griffiths
1982Terry Griffiths 16-15 Alex Higgins
1983Alex Higgins 16-15 Steve Davis
1984Steve Davis 16-8 Alex Higgins
1985Steve Davis 16-14 Willie Thorne
1986Steve Davis 16-7 Neal Foulds
1987Steve Davis 16-14 Jimmy White
1988Doug Mountjoy 16-12 Stephen Hendry
1989Stephen Hendry 16-12 Steve Davis
1990Stephen Hendry 16-15 Steve Davis
1991John Parrott 16-13 Jimmy White
1992Jimmy White 16-9 John Parrott
1993Ronnie O'Sullivan 10-6 Stephen Hendry
1994Stephen Hendry 10-5 Ken Doherty
1995Stephen Hendry 10-3 Peter Ebdon
1996Stephen Hendry 10-9 John Higgins
1997Ronnie O'Sullivan 10-6 Stephen Hendry
1998John Higgins 10-6 Matthew Stevens
1999Mark Williams 10-8 Matthew Stevens
2000John Higgins 10-4 Mark Williams
2001Ronnie O'Sullivan 10-1 Ken Doherty
2002Mark Williams 10-9 Ken Doherty
2003Matthew Stevens 10-8 Stephen Hendry
2004Stephen Maguire 10-1 David Gray
2005Ding Junhui 10-6 Steve Davis
2006Peter Ebdon 10-6 Stephen Hendry
2007Ronnie O'Sullivan 10-2 Stephen Maguire
2008Shaun Murphy 10-9 Marco Fu
2009Ding Junhui 10-8 John Higgins
2010John Higgins 10-9 Mark Williams
2011Judd Trump 10-8 Mark Allen
2012Mark Selby 10-6 Shaun Murphy
2013Neil Robertson 10-7 Mark Selby
2014Ronnie O'Sullivan 10-9 Judd Trump
2015Neil Robertson 10-5 Liang Wenbo
2016Mark Selby 10-7 Ronnie O'Sullivan
2017Ronnie O'Sullivan 10-5 Shaun Murphy
2018Ronnie O'Sullivan 10-6 Mark Allen

You have unread messages

You have unread messages