Anthony McGill crashes out of the Snooker Shoot-Out as Hawkins and White progress in Watford

Left arrow

Snooker Shoot-Out to remain a ranking event following majority player vote

Right arrow

Snooker Shoot-Out 2018 live stream: The essential guide of how to watch live online

It was a contrast of emotions for McGill 12 months after winning the Shoot-Out title (credit: Nigel Roddis/Getty Images)

It was a contrast of emotions for McGill 12 months after winning the Shoot-Out title (credit: Nigel Roddis/Getty Images)

Reigning champion Anthony McGill is out of the 2018 Snooker Shoot-Out after suffering defeat against Mark Davis on the opening day at the Watford Colosseum.

McGill, who lifted the trophy here 12 months ago, saw his title defence fall at the very first hurdle on Thursday.

The Scotsman could only sit and watch as Hastings’ Davis produced a magnificent break of 102 to book his place in round two.

Another former champion Dominic Dale lost in the opening round, as he was ousted by Matt Selt.

However, there were better fortunes for 2012 winner Barry Hawkins, who enjoyed a commanding 67-0 victory over Shaun Murphy, while 2011 champion Nigel Bond and 2013 victor Martin Gould saw off Leo Fernandez and Ken Doherty respectively.

Meanwhile, German Masters champion Mark Williams continued his winning streak against Li Hang, and 2014 finalist Stuart Bingham marked his return to televised snooker with a comfortable win over James Silverwood.

Crowd favourite Jimmy White also made a winning start to the tournament against Anthony Hamilton, while Ali Carter and Joe Perry made half-century breaks on the way to overcoming Craig Steadman and Hammad Miah respectively.

Two-time finalist Xiao Guodong, runner-up in 2015 and 2017, began his quest to make it third-time lucky with victory over David Grace.

Coral Snooker Shoot-Out 2018 Results

Thursday February 8

Round One

Afternoon session

Mark Davis 103-0 Anthony McGill

Mark Joyce 22-36 Alex Davies

Alan McManus 32-52 Ross Vallance

Duane Jones 58-20 Ben Woollaston

Craig Steadman 1-79 Ali Carter

Scott Donaldson 33-9 Yuan SiJun

Lyu Haotian 53-4 Xu Si

David Lilley 90-22 Chen Zhe

Martin Gould 59-17 Ken Doherty

Chen Zifan 17-50 Peter Lines

Liam Highfield 53-47 Fang Xiongman

David Gilbert 34-31 Adam Duffy

Matthew Selt 46-11 Dominic Dale

Billy Joe Castle 68-24 Chris Wakelin

Elliot Slessor 87-4 Sanderson Lam

Barry Hawkins 67-0 Shaun Murphy

Kuldesh Johal 22-14 Wang Yuchen

Ashley Hugill 39-16 Ben Jones

Eden Sharav 52-54 Mei Xi Wen

Hammad Miah 12-53 Joe Perry

Allan Taylor 90-0 Ian Burns

Li Hang 0-44 Mark Williams

Christopher Keogan 2-46 Michael Williams

Ashley Carty 34-43 Mark King

Evening Session

James Silverwood v Stuart Bingham

John J Astley v Ross Muir

Kurt Dunham v Chris Totten

Noppon Saengkham v Paul S Davison

Basem Eltahhan v Li Yuan

James Cahill v Rory McLeod

Alexander Ursenbacher v Jack Lisowski

Jimmy White v Anthony Hamilton

David Grace v Xiao Guodong

Jamie Cope v Hamza Akbar

Tian Pengfei v Wayne Brown

Sam Baird v Joe Swail

James Wattana v Zhang Anda

Lee Walker v Stuart Carrington

Nigel Bond v Leo Fernandez