Georgiou and Jones make maximum breaks at the Paul Hunter Classic

Left arrow

Paul Hunter Classic live stream: The essential guide of how to watch live online

Right arrow

Live Snooker on Saturday August 25: Paul Hunter Classic 2018 Day Two preview and order of play

Michael Georgiou in action (credit:Zhang Chenlin/Xinhua News Agency/PA Images)

Michael Georgiou and Jamie Jones both produced perfection with a maximum break on the opening day of the 2018 Paul Hunter Classic in Furth on Friday.

Georgiou, the reigning Shoot-Out champion, compiled his first career 147 in a 4-2 win over amateur qualifier Umut Dikme in the opening round.

The Cypriot looked to be on course for a lucrative £20,000 bonus, but saw his prize pot halved a matter of hours later as Jones replicated the feat in his Second Round clash with Lee Walker.

The Welshman also registered the first maximum of his career, but it was not enough to avert an eventual 4-2 defeat to his fellow countryman – who went on to defeat Craig Steadman in a black-ball decider in the Last 32.

The brace of maximums ended a near five-month wait for a perfect frame in ranking competition and took the tally of professional 147 breaks made to 141.

Jamie Jones in action (Photo by Xinhua/SIPA USA/PA Images)

Elsewhere, reigning champion Michael White saw his title defence brought to an end by China’s Zhang Anda in the Last 32.

White had begun the day with successive 4-2 wins over Thor Chuan Leong and Allan Taylor but went down 4-1 to Zhang – who recovered from losing the first frame to produce breaks of 91, 60 and 50 for victory.

Former World Champion Peter Ebdon booked his place in the final day of action following three granite displays at the Stadthalle.

Ebdon whitewashed Ben Jones in Round One and repeated the drubbing on Andreas Ploner before overcoming former Northern Ireland Open winner Mark King 4-2 in the Last 32.

Chris Wakelin sealed his spot in the Last 16 with an impressive 4-2 defeat of top 16 star Luca Brecel which included high breaks of 116 and 144 from this year’s debutant Crucible qualifier.

Harvey Chandler continued his dream start to life on the main tour as he reached the Last 16 of a ranking event for the first time.

Chandler, who reached the Last 32 of the recent World Open, benefitted from a walk-over in Round One before dispatching Alexander Ursenbacher 4-1 and Mark Joyce 4-0 to mount his charge.

Seventeen-year-old Jackson Page underlined his natural ability by following up a clinical whitewash of Zhou Yuelong with a 4-1 rout of Ian Burns and a deciding-frame defeat of Sam Baird to make it through.

Scott Donaldson, who came through all three of the recent ranking event qualifiers in Preston, continued his fine form as he defeated Sam Craigie, Niu Zhuang and Tom Ford to progress.

Thailand’s Thepchaiya Un-Nooh swept aside Christopher Watts, Ben Woollaston and Zhang Yong for the combined loss of just three frames to secure his place in Sunday’s latter stages.

Paul Hunter Classic 2018 Results

Friday August 24

First Round

Michael White 4-2 Thor Chuan Leong

Rory McLeod 0-4 Allan Taylor

Zhang Anda 4-3 George Pragnall

Dominic Dale 4-0 Itaro Santos

Mark Joyce 4-3 Michael Wild

Sean O’Sullivan 0-4 Brian Cini

Alexander Ursenbacher 4-0 Barry Pinches

Fan Zhengyi 0-w/o Harvey Chandler

Sam Baird 4-2 Kevin VanHove

Andy Lee 3-4 Reggie Edwards

Ian Burns 4-0 Oliver Brown

Zhou Yuelong 0-4 Jackson Page

Niu Zhuang 4-1 James Cahill

Scott Donaldson 4-2 Sam Craigie

Ross Muir 4-1 Patrick Einsle

Tom Ford 4-0 Luke Pinches

Mark King 4-3 Martin O’Donnell

Stuart Carrington 0-w/o Jack Bradford

Peter Ebdon 4-0 Ben Jones

Basem Eltahhan 2-4 Andreas Ploner

Ben Woollaston 4-2 Alex Taubman

Thepchaiya Un-Nooh 4-0 Christopher Watts

Michael Georgiou 4-2 Umut Dikme – *Georgiou makes a 147*

Elliot Slessor 3-4 Zhang Yong

Craig Steadman 4-1 Oliver Lines

Kishan Hirani 4-3 Jamie Clarke

Lee Walker 4-0 Regis D’Anna

Jamie Jones 4-0 Nigel Bond

Chris Wakelin 4-1 Luke Simmonds

Stefan Joachim 0-4 Aaron Busuttil

Chen Zifan 4-0 Duncan Bezzina

Luca Brecel 4-0 Curtis Daher

Second Round

Michael White 4-2 Allan Taylor

Zhang Anda 4-2 Dominic Dale

Mark Joyce 4-2 Brian Cini

Alexander Ursenbacher 1-4 Harvey Chandler

Sam Baird 4-0 Reggie Edwards

Ian Burns 1-4 Jackson Page

Niu Zhuang 3-4 Scott Donaldson

Ross Muir 2-4 Tom Ford

Mark King 4-2 Jack Bradford

Peter Ebdon 4-0 Andreas Ploner

Ben Woollaston 1-4 Thepchaiya Un-Nooh

Michael Georgiou 3-4 Zhang Yong

Craig Steadman 4-0 Kishan Hirani

Lee Walker 4-2 Jamie Jones – *Jones makes a 147*

Chris Wakelin 4-2 Aaron Busuttil

Chen Zifan 1-4 Luca Brecel

Last 32

Michael White 1-4 Zhang Anda

Mark Joyce 0-4 Harvey Chandler

Sam Baird 3-4 Jackson Page

Scott Donaldson 4-3 Tom Ford

Mark King 2-4 Peter Ebdon

Thepchaiya Un-Nooh 4-2 Zhang Yong

Craig Steadman 3-4 Lee Walker

Chris Wakelin 4-2 Luca Brecel