Live Snooker on Friday March 9: Gibraltar Open 2018 Day One preview and order of play

Left arrow

Live Snooker on Saturday March 10: Gibraltar Open 2018 Day Two preview and order of play

Right arrow

Clinical Ryan Day secures Gibraltar Open glory

Hawkins is eyeing a strong run in Gibraltar (credit: Linnea Rheborg/Getty Images)

Barry Hawkins is the highest-ranked player in action on day one of the 2018 Gibraltar Open, while Luca Brecel and Stuart Bingham are also in action at the Victoria Stadium.

The 17th major ranking event of the season breaks off at The Rock, with the players in action looking to progress through three rounds and book their place in Finals day on Sunday.

Shaun Murphy was victorious in the second staging of this event 12 months ago, but there will be a new name on the trophy this year after the Magician withdrew at the last minute due to injury.

World number seven Hawkins will be hoping to build on his recent momentum after reaching the Welsh Open final last week.

The three-time ranking event winner’s mission to go one step better than in Cardiff begins against Chris Wakelin.

Former World champion Bingham is another of the world’s top 16 players in action on day one. Ballrun takes on Andrew Higginson, as Kyren Wilson and Anthony McGill face Mark Joyce and Paul Davison respectively.

Meanwhile, Stephen Maguire and Liang Wenbo are among the players hoping for a good run in Gibraltar to propel them back into the elite bracket. Maguire plays Kurt Maflin and Liang is up against Alex Borg.

Other notable first-round matches on day one see rising stars Oliver Lines and Elliot Slessor face off, while Mark King takes on Nigel Bond and crowd favourite Ken Doherty will play amateur qualifier Andreas Ploner.

Play at the Victoria Stadium in Gibraltar breaks off at 8.30am GMT on Friday, with all matches to be contested over the best of seven frames.

Gibraltar Open 2018 Match Schedule



Friday March 9

Round One


76 Andrew Higginson v Stuart Bingham

77 Mark King v Nigel Bond

78 Noppon Saengkham v Barry Pinches

79 Eden Sharav v James Cahill

80 Ken Doherty v Andreas Ploner

82 Li Yuan v Tom Ford

83 Dominic Dale v Chris Totten

84 Yu De Lu v Louis Heathcote


87 Ian Preece v Rory McLeod

88 Matthew Stevens v Mike Dunn

89 Yuan SiJun v Cao Yupeng

91 Chris Wakelin v Barry Hawkins


90 Sam Craigie v Joe O’Connor

92 Allan Taylor v Andy Symons

93 Niu Zhuang v Mike Finn

94 Hamza Akbar v Jak Jones

95 Gerard Greene v Lee Walker


96 Paul Davison v Anthony McGill

97 David Grace v Ben Woollaston

98 Li Hang v Matthew Glasby

99 Oliver Lines v Elliot Slessor


100 Jamie Jones v Robbie Williams

101 Liang Wenbo v Alex Borg

102 Mitchell Mann v Patrick Whelan

106 Kyren Wilson v Mark Joyce


104 John Astley v Jimmy Robertson

105 Robert Milkins v Andy Hicks

107 Daniel Wells v Ian Burns

Round Two


140 Winner Match 76 v Winner Match 77

141 Winner Match 78 v Winner Match 79

142 Winner Match 80 v Kurt Maflin

143 Winner Match 82 v Winner Match 83

144 Winner Match 84 v Thor Chuan Leong

145 Jamie Cope v Winner Match 87

146 Winner Match 88 v Winner Match 89

147 Winner Match 90 v Winner Match 91


148 Winner Match 92 v Winner Match 93

149 Winner Match 94 v Winner Match 95

150 Winner Match 96 v Winner Match 97

151 Winner Match 98 v Winner Match 99

152 Winner Match 100 v Winner Match 101

153 Winner Match 102 v Matt Selt

154 Winner Match 104 v Winner Match 105

155 Winner Match 106 v Winner Match 107

Round Three


172 Winner Match 140 v Winner Match 141

173 Winner Match 142 v Winner Match 143

174 Winner Match 144 v Winner Match 145

175 Winner Match 146 v Winner Match 147

176 Winner Match 148 v Winner Match 149

177 Winner Match 150 v Winner Match 151

178 Winner Match 152 v Winner Match 153

179 Winner Match 154 v Winner Match 155