Zhao Xintong stuns John Higgins as Carter and Muir make maximums in German Masters qualifying

Left arrow

Jimmy White v Joe Perry: German Masters Qualifiers 2017 preview – Gentleman out to tame The Whirlwind

Right arrow

Jimmy White battles back to stun Joe Perry and seal German Masters spot as Ford thumps Trump

China's Xintong in action (credit:World Snooker)

China’s Xintong in action (credit:World Snooker)

Zhao Xintong booked his place in the 2017 German Masters after thrashing John Higgins in the final qualifying round, while Ali Carter and Ross Muir both produced a maximum break in Barnsley on Thursday.

Nineteen year-old Xintong needed little over an hour of playing time to sweep aside the reigning Champion of Champions 5-1 and seal a spot in the main stages of the ranking event next February.

The Chinese starlet took the opening frame with an ominous break of 76 before Higgins levelled with a break of 58.

The teenager, though, regained the lead by virtue of a break of 72, before dominating frames four and five and sealing the deal with a stunning 92 in the sixth.

There was to be no such banana skin for Ronnie O’Sullivan as he held off a late Gary Wilson fightback to close out a 5-3 victory.

The 2012 German Masters champion raced into a 4-0 lead with top breaks of 52, 55, 64 and 78, but only for Wilson to reel off the next three with breaks of 78, 73 and 93 to kick-start the comeback.

Ali Carter of England plays a shot (Photo by Dan Mullan/Getty Images)

Ali Carter of England plays a shot (Photo by Dan Mullan/Getty Images)

O’Sullivan, though, quashed Wilson’s hopes of forcing a decider as he fired in a terrific 94 clearance to safely progress to the main stages.

An incredible spell in the afternoon session featured two 147 breaks within minutes of one another as Carter compiled a maximum against Wang Yuchen before Muir followed suit in his First Round clash with Itaro Santos.

Carter’s perfect frame was his second in professional competition and came en route to a 5-0 whitewash win, while Scottish youngster Muir made his first in an eventual 5-2 win over his Brazilian opponent.

Elsewhere, Michael White denied a dream comeback for Liam Highfield with an 82 break in the deciding frame to edge through.

Highfield had hit back from 4-0 down to level the match with high breaks of 60 and 54, but only for the former ranking event winner to hold his nerve in the decider.

Reigning German Masters champion Martin Gould confirmed his return to the Tempodrom with a commanding 5-1 win over Craig Steadman.

Last weekend’s UK Champion Mark Selby continued his blistering form with a 5-0 whitewash of Dechawat Poomjaeng to reach the Second Qualifying Round, closing out victory with a stunning break of 131.

Judd Trump breezed past Paul Davison without dropping a frame, with the left-hander firing in high breaks of 65, 80, 53, 98 and 112 in a masterclass of scoring.

Neil Robertson safely dispatched Welshman Lee Walker 5-2, while Mark Williams was a 5-3 victor over Ireland’s Fergal O’Brien.

Mark Allen utilised his vast experience as he wrapped up a narrow 5-4 victor over emerging star Sean O’Sullivan, as Stuart Bingham saw off Alfie Burden 5-2 with a top break of 99 in frame one.


German Masters Qualifiers 2017 Results


Thursday December 8

Round One

John J Astley 5-1 Jimmy Robertson

Mark Allen 5-4 Sean O’Sullivan

Stuart Bingham 5-2 Alfie Burden

Stuart Carrington 5-2 Ken Doherty

Jamie Cope 1-5 Jak Jones

Kritsanut Lertsattayathorn 1-5 Mark Joyce

Aditya Mehta 5-4 Nigel Bond

Michael Wild 4-5 Fang Xiongman

Adam Duffy 5-3 Mei Xi Wen

Judd Trump 5-0 Paul S Davison

Tom Ford 5-1 Duane Jones

Ross Muir 5-2 Itaro Santos – *Muir makes a 147 break*

Allister Carter 5-0 Wang Yuchen – *Carter makes a 147 break*

Neil Robertson 5-2 Lee Walker

Mark Williams 5-3 Fergal O’Brien

Mark Selby 5-0 Dechawat Poomjaeng

Round Two


Martin Gould 5-1 Craig Steadman

Ricky Walden 5-1 Robbie Williams

Ronnie O’Sullivan 5-3 Gary Wilson

Mark King 5-3 Andrew Higginson

Noppon Saengkham 4-5 Stephen Maguire

Zhao Xintong 5-1 John Higgins

Alex Borg 1-5 Dominic Dale

Michael White 5-4 Liam Highfield