Shanghai Masters - Live Stream

18+ | Geo restrictions may apply | Be Gamble Aware

Graeme Dott grounds Ronnie O’Sullivan at the World Grand Prix as Judd Trump also departs

Jamie Shaw in World Grand Prix

Left arrow

World Grand Prix Snooker 2020 Day Four preview and order of play: Favourites aim to reach home straight at Cheltenham

Right arrow

Neil Robertson v Graeme Dott: World Grand Prix 2020 final preview – Thunder out to pip Dott to the post at Cheltenham

Dott ground The Rocket in Cheltenham (ITV Sport)

Graeme Dott continued his superb run of form by knocking Ronnie O’Sullivan out of the World Grand Prix in the Quarter-Finals in Cheltenham on a day which also saw Kyren Wilson defeat Judd Trump.

O’Sullivan saw his quest to claim a second World Grand Prix title in the space of three years crushed as went down 5-3 to the inspired 2006 World Champion.

O’Sullivan, making his first tournament appearance of the year, had edged through successive last frame deciders en route to the Last Eight but was halted by the tenacious Scot.

“I played really well,” admitted Dott to WST. “I could have won the first frame and maybe should have and you can never tell what’s going to happen when you don’t take your chances against Ronnie.

“When I lost that frame I thought this could easily be five-nil but I made a nice break and settled after that.

“My game is good, there is still some parts I don’t like but none really came out there.”

O’Sullivan took the opening frame before Dott made a 70 break on the way to a 2-1 lead and the Scot on to overturn a 52 break from ‘The Rocket’ with a fine 62 clearance to extend his advantage.

Quick-fire breaks of 52 and 102 after the interval saw O’Sullivan restore parity, but Dott made a 52 of his own to lead 4-3 before sealing his first win over O’Sullivan for nine years with a clinical break of 91.

O’Sullivan admitted: “Graeme played well he deserved his victory, he was much the better player.

“I’ve got no complaints, I did well to get three frames. I always felt I was second best.”

Dott will now face his close friend Tom Ford in Friday’s opening Semi-Final after the Leicester ace defeated Gary Wilson 5-2.

Ford produced breaks of 69, 84 and 54 to progress to his second ranking Semi-Final of the season and the fourth of his career in total.

Earlier in the day, Kyren Wilson pulled off a superb 4-3 victory over rival Judd Trump to dethrone the defending champion at The Centaur.

German Masters champion Trump saw his quest for back-to-back ranking titles ended at the Last 16 stage as Wilson came through a nerve-jangling decider.

Wilson took the opening frame before Trump made a 77 break to level up, but a 68 helped ‘The Warrior’ on the way to a 3-1 lead.

Back-to-back frames for Trump, including a trademark century (100) saw him force a decider, but despite making a 50 break, the world number one missed a potentially match-clinching blue and Wilson did the rest to seal victory.

Wilson will now face John Higgins in the Quarter-Finals after the four-time World Champion brushed aside Zhao Xintong 4-1 with a high break of 68.

European Masters champion Neil Robertson remains in the running for a third consecutive ranking final appearance after whitewashing a struggling Mark Williams 4-0.

Robertson, who was runner-up in last week’s German Masters, fired in three century breaks (100, 100 and 105) in restricting the Welshman to just 35 points in the entire contest.

Williams was again playing through the pain barrier with a protective slipper on his left foot after suffering with gout for the past week.

Robertson will now face his regular practice partner Joe Perry in the Last Eight after the former PTC Finals champion defeated Scott Donaldson 4-2.

Perry raced into a 3-0 lead before the in-form Scot responded with successive breaks of 114 and 120 to close the gap, but only for Perry to edge frame six and get over the line.


Coral World Grand Prix 2020 Results

Thursday February 6

Last 16

Judd Trump 3-4 Kyren Wilson
Joe Perry 4-2 Scott Donaldson

Not before 2pm
John Higgins 4-1 Zhao Xintong
Neil Robertson 4-0 Mark Williams


Graeme Dott 5-3 Ronnie O’Sullivan
Tom Ford 5-2 Gary Wilson