Xi'an Grand Prix Qualifiers - Live Stream

18+ | Geo restrictions may apply | Be Gamble Aware

Major Ranking Events

Welsh Open

The Welsh Open is a longstanding major ranking event steeped in history, an annual highlight of the snooker calendar since 1992.

For a total of 17 years, with a six-year gap from 1999 to 2004, the event was staged at the Newport Centre until 2014, when it was switched to the Motorpoint Arena in Cardiff.

Since 2014, the tournament has adopted the flat 128-man format, with all players arriving on day one and battling it out over seven rounds for the right to be crowned the champion.

The £366,000 event has notably provided maiden ranking titles and major breakthroughs for the likes of Ken Doherty, Mark Williams, Mark Selby, Ali Carter and the late Paul Hunter.

John Higgins and Ronnie O’Sullivan are the only players to win the tournament four times and there have been six maximum 147 breaks.

Welsh Open Snooker Roll of Honour

Year Final Result
1992 Stephen Hendry 9-3 Darren Morgan
1993 Ken Doherty 9-7 Alan McManus
1994 Steve Davis 9-6 Alan McManus
1995 Steve Davis 9-3 John Higgins
1996 Mark Williams 9-3 John Parrott
1997 Stephen Hendry 9-2 Mark King
1998 Paul Hunter 9-5 John Higgins
1999 Mark Williams 9-8 Stephen Hendry
2000 John Higgins 9-8 Stephen Lee
2001 Ken Doherty 9-2 Paul Hunter
2002 Paul Hunter 9-7 Ken Doherty
2003 Stephen Hendry 9-5 Mark Williams
2004 Ronnie O’Sullivan 9-8 Steve Davis
2005 Ronnie O’Sullivan 9-8 Stephen Hendry
2006 Stephen Lee 9-4 Shaun Murphy
2007 Neil Robertson 9-8 Andrew Higginson
2008 Mark Selby 9-8 Ronnie O’Sullivan
2009 Ali Carter 9-5 Joe Swail
2010 John Higgins 9-4 Ali Carter
2011 John Higgins 9-6 Stephen Maguire
2012 Ding Junhui 9-6 Mark Selby
2013 Stephen Maguire 9-8 Stuart Bingham
2014 Ronnie O’Sullivan 9-3 Ding Junhui
2015 John Higgins 9-3 Ben Woollaston
2016 Ronnie O’Sullivan 9-5 Neil Robertson
2017 Stuart Bingham 9-8 Judd Trump
2018 John Higgins 9-7 Barry Hawkins