World Championship Qualifiers - Live Stream

18+ | Geo restrictions may apply | Be Gamble Aware

Maximum man Graeme Dott closes in on Crucible return

Left arrow

Andrew Pagett ends Jimmy White’s 2022 World Championship qualification dream

Right arrow

Ding, Maguire and Un-Nooh among first batch of World Snooker Championship qualifiers

Dott compiled the second maximum break of his career (JOHANNES EISELE/AFP/Getty Images)

Graeme Dott produced a stunning maximum break on the way to a 6-1 victory over Pang Junxu in the World Championship qualifiers on Monday.

The 2006 World champion compiled the second 147 of his career – and first since the 1999 British Open – as he booked his place in Judgement Day at the English Institute of Sport.

The 175th maximum in snooker history came during the sixth frame of his clash with Pang, who was seeking a first appearance at the Crucible.

World number 34 Dott is subsequently on course to receive the £10,000 maximum break bonus for the qualifying event, while he would pocket an additional £15,000 should it remain the high break for the entire tournament.

The Pocket Dynamo is targeting his 21st appearance at the Crucible – and first since 2019.

To end the wait, he must defeat Jamie Clarke, who whitewashed former semi-finalist Gary Wilson 6-0.

Shootout winner Hossein Vafaei also reeled off six frames without reply against Simon Lichtenberg, while Gibraltar Open champion Robert Milkins saw off Cao Yupeng 6-3.

Two-time runners-up Ali Carter and Matthew Stevens will face off after defeating Gao Yang (6-4) and Sam Craigie (6-1) respectively,

However, 2008 semi-finalist Joe Perry will miss out on a 17th Crucible appearance after going down 6-3 against Jackson Page.

There was also no joy for three-time ranking event winner Ryan Day, who was comfortably beaten 6-1 by Chinese teenager Yuan SiJun.


World Snooker Championship Qualifiers 2022 Results

Monday April 11

Third Round

Graeme Dott 6-1 Pang Junxu
Gary Wilson 0-6 Jamie Clarke
Alexander Ursenbacher 3-6 Lei Peifan
Hossein Vafaei 6-0 Simon Lichtenberg
Noppon Saengkham 6-3 Daniel Wells
Robert Milkins 6-3 Cao Yupeng
Liam Highfield 6-5 James Cahill
Ryan Day 1-6 Yuan SiJun
Ali Carter 6-4 Gao Yang
Sam Craigie 1-6 Matthew Stevens
Joe Perry 3-6 Jackson Page
Xiao Guodong 4-6 David Grace