World Seniors Championship - Live Stream

18+ | Geo restrictions may apply | Be Gamble Aware

Neil Robertson named WST Player of the Year for 2021-22 season

Left arrow

BBC agree to extend Triple Crown event coverage until 2027

Right arrow

John Parrott announces retirement from competitive snooker

Robertson won four tournaments during the season (Photo by PA Images/Alamy Stock Photo)

Neil Robertson has won the WST Player of the Year award for the first time after a sensational 2021-22 season.

The Australian scooped the top prize after winning four tournaments – his best haul during a single campaign.

Robertson triumphed at the English Open back in November, while also capturing the Masters, Players Championship and Tour Championship since the turn of the year.

The Thunder also won the Magic Moment of the Year award for his wonderful 147 against Jack Lisowski in the second round of the World Championship.

Although he went on to lose the match 13-12, Robertson became the eighth different player to compile a maximum break at the Crucible.

Ronnie O’Sullivan was voted the Snooker Journalists’ Player of the Year after winning the World Championship and World Grand Prix, while also returning to the top of the world rankings.

The Rocket also won the Performance of the Year award after claiming a record-equalling seventh Crucible title earlier this week, beating Judd Trump 18-13 in the final.

Elsewhere, Zhao Xintong claimed the Fans’ Player of the Year accolade following a breakthrough season.

The new world number six won his first ranking title at the UK Championship in December, before landing the German Masters just eight weeks later.

Zhao’s compatriot Wu Yize won Rookie of the Year after a solid debut campaign on the tour, in which the 18-year-old reached the last 32 of the UK Championship, European Masters and Turkish Masters.

Meanwhile, 12-time Ladies’ World champion Reanne Evans was one of two new inductees into the Snooker Hall of Fame, along with seven-time winner Allison Fisher.