No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us. If you do not want to receive such messages, tick here:
The World Championship is the biggest and most prestigious event on the snooker calendar, with the world's top players competing for the ultimate prize -  becoming World Champion at the Crucible.

The World Championship is the number one professional snooker tournament in terms of both prize money and ranking points.

First held in 1927, the inaugural championship was won by Englishman Joe Davis, who beat Tom Dennis 20-11 at Camkin's Hall, Birmingham. Davis earned £6.10s for that victory, a far cry from 2008 when Ronnie O'Sullivan banked £250,000 for capturing the World Championship trophy.

The event has been held at various locations subsequently, however since 1977 it has been played at the world famous Crucible Theatre, Sheffield, England. It was also in 1977 that the BBC started to provide comprehensive coverage of the event and there have been some memorable TV moments to savour since.

The 1985 final between Dennis Taylor and Steve Davis certainly comes to mind, one of the most keenly contested finals in the history of the game. The match went down to the final ball in the final frame and emotional scenes ensued when the Irishman sank the black to beat Davis and win his first and only World Championship title 18–17.

The 1983 championship meanwhile, is best remembered for Canada's Cliff Thorburn creating snooker history by compiling the first-ever 147 maximum break at a World Snooker Championship during his second round match against Terry Griffiths.

World Snooker Championship roll of honour

YearFinal Result
1977John Spencer 25-21 Cliff Thorburn
1978Ray Reardon 25-18 Perrie Mans
1979Terry Griffiths 24-16 Dennis Taylor
1980Cliff Thorburn 18-16 Alex Higgins
1981Steve Davis 18-12 Doug Mountjoy
1982Alex Higgins 18-15 Ray Reardon
1983Steve Davis 18-6 Cliff Thorburn
1984Steve Davis 18-16 Jimmy White
1985Dennis Taylor 18-17 Steve Davis
1986Joe Johnson 18-12 Steve Davis
1987Steve Davis 18-14 Joe Johnson
1988Steve Davis 18-11 Terry Griffiths
1989Steve Davis 18-3 John Parrott
1990Stephen Hendry 18-12 Jimmy White
1991John Parrott 18-11 Jimmy White
1992Stephen Hendry 18-14 Jimmy White
1993Stephen Hendry 18-5 Jimmy White
1994Stephen Hendry 18-17 Jimmy White
1995Stephen Hendry 18-9 Nigel Bond
1996Stephen Hendry 18-12 Peter Ebdon
1997Ken Doherty 18-12 Stephen Hendry
1998John Higgins 18-12 Ken Doherty
1999Stephen Hendry 18-11 Mark Williams
2000Mark Williams 18-16 Matthew Stevens
2001Ronnie O'Sullivan 18-14 John Higgins
2002Peter Ebdon 18-17 Stephen Hendry
2003Mark Williams 18-16 Ken Doherty
2004Ronnie O'Sullivan 18-8 Graeme Dott
2005Shaun Murphy 18-16 Matthew Stevens
2006Graeme Dott 18-14 Peter Ebdon
2007John Higgins 18-13 Mark Selby
2008Ronnie O'Sullivan 18-8 Ali Carter
2009John Higgins 18-9 Shaun Murphy
2010Neil Robertson 18-13 Graeme Dott
2011John Higgins 18-15 Judd Trump
2012Ronnie O'Sullivan 18-11 Ali Carter
2013Ronnie O'Sullivan 18-12 Barry Hawkins
2014Mark Selby 18-14 Ronnie O'Sullivan
2015Stuart Bingham 18-15 Shaun Murphy
2016Mark Selby 18-14 Ding Junhui
2017Mark Selby 18-15 John Higgins
2018Mark Williams 18-16 John Higgins

You have unread messages

You have unread messages