World Seniors Championship - Live Stream

18+ | Geo restrictions may apply | Be Gamble Aware

Dates and format confirmed for World Snooker Championship Qualifiers

Left arrow

Live Snooker on Wednesday April 10: World Championship Qualifiers 2019 Day One preview and order of play

Right arrow

Field of players confirmed for 2020 World Snooker Championship

The qualifying action takes place in Sheffield (Photo by PA Images)

The qualifying rounds for the 2020 World Snooker Championship will take place from July 21-28 the English Institute of Sport in Sheffield.

A total of 128 players will battle it out for 16 coveted places in the sport’s show-piece event – which is scheduled to take place from July 31 to August 16 at The Crucible Theatre.

The qualifying rounds will be open to all tour professionals ranked outside of the world’s top 16, as well as 16 WPBSA invited players.

The qualifiers will be held behind closed doors at the EIS and be subject to Covid-19 testing, sanitisation and social distancing measures, as seen in the recent Championship League.

WST and the WPBSA are working closely with the UK Government to assist players travelling from outside the UK with regard to visas, quarantine and travel issues.

For safety reasons and to minimise the risk of breaching social distancing guidelines, the opening three qualifying rounds will feature a reduced format of best of 11 frames, as opposed to the traditional best of 19.

However, the fourth and final qualifying round will remain best of 19 frames, with matches split across two sessions.

WST Chairman Barry Hearn said: “We are delighted to stage the qualifying rounds at the English Institute of Sport as we know from many years of experience that it is a fantastic venue.

“We look forward to working with the venue to ensure that the health and safety of our players and officials is the highest priority throughout the event.

“We have already proved that we are at the forefront of sport by staging events in the current conditions.

“Alongside the WPBSA we are already doing all we can to give as much assistance as possible to players coming from overseas. We want to see a full and international field.

“The Betfred World Championship, our biggest tournament, starts from the first ball struck of the opening qualifying round.

“Everyone dreams of a place at the Crucible, from legends like Jimmy White and Ken Doherty to exciting young talent. The drama of the final round, when places at the Theatre of Dreams are on the line, can barely be matched.

“This is another important step in the right direction as our tour gets back on track. While fans will not be able to go to the venue, we expect a further exciting announcement shortly on how fans will be able to watch the live action.”

Notable players in qualifying action are set to include two-time world finalist Ali Carter, six-time world finalist Jimmy White, former World Champions Ken Doherty and Graeme Dott, last year’s semi-finalist Gary Wilson and Championship League winner Luca Brecel.

The draw and schedule of play for the World Championship qualifiers will be confirmed in due course.


Year Final Result
1977 John Spencer 25-21 Cliff Thorburn
1978 Ray Reardon 25-18 Perrie Mans
1979 Terry Griffiths 24-16 Dennis Taylor
1980 Cliff Thorburn 18-16 Alex Higgins
1981 Steve Davis 18-12 Doug Mountjoy
1982 Alex Higgins 18-15 Ray Reardon
1983 Steve Davis 18-6 Cliff Thorburn
1984 Steve Davis 18-16 Jimmy White
1985 Dennis Taylor 18-17 Steve Davis
1986 Joe Johnson 18-12 Steve Davis
1987 Steve Davis 18-14 Joe Johnson
1988 Steve Davis 18-11 Terry Griffiths
1989 Steve Davis 18-3 John Parrott
1990 Stephen Hendry 18-12 Jimmy White
1991 John Parrott 18-11 Jimmy White
1992 Stephen Hendry 18-14 Jimmy White
1993 Stephen Hendry 18-5 Jimmy White
1994 Stephen Hendry 18-17 Jimmy White
1995 Stephen Hendry 18-9 Nigel Bond
1996 Stephen Hendry 18-12 Peter Ebdon
1997 Ken Doherty 18-12 Stephen Hendry
1998 John Higgins 18-12 Ken Doherty
1999 Stephen Hendry 18-11 Mark Williams
2000 Mark Williams 18-16 Matthew Stevens
2001 Ronnie O’Sullivan 18-14 John Higgins
2002 Peter Ebdon 18-17 Stephen Hendry
2003 Mark Williams 18-16 Ken Doherty
2004 Ronnie O’Sullivan 18-8 Graeme Dott
2005 Shaun Murphy 18-16 Matthew Stevens
2006 Graeme Dott 18-14 Peter Ebdon
2007 John Higgins 18-13 Mark Selby
2008 Ronnie O’Sullivan 18-8 Ali Carter
2009 John Higgins 18-9 Shaun Murphy
2010 Neil Robertson 18-13 Graeme Dott
2011 John Higgins 18-15 Judd Trump
2012 Ronnie O’Sullivan 18-11 Ali Carter
2013 Ronnie O’Sullivan 18-12 Barry Hawkins
2014 Mark Selby 18-14 Ronnie O’Sullivan
2015 Stuart Bingham 18-15 Shaun Murphy
2016 Mark Selby 18-14 Ding Junhui
2017 Mark Selby 18-15 John Higgins
2018 Mark Williams 18-16 John Higgins