World Seniors Championship - Live Stream

18+ | Geo restrictions may apply | Be Gamble Aware

Major Ranking Events

World Snooker Championship

The World Championship is the biggest and most prestigious event on the snooker calendar, with the world’s top players competing for the ultimate prize –  becoming World Champion at the Crucible.

The World Championship is the number one professional snooker tournament in terms of both prize money and ranking points.

First held in 1927, the inaugural championship was won by Englishman Joe Davis, who beat Tom Dennis 20-11 at Camkin’s Hall, Birmingham. Davis earned £6.10s for that victory, a far cry from 2008 when Ronnie O’Sullivan banked £250,000 for capturing the World Championship trophy.

The event has been held at various locations subsequently, however since 1977 it has been played at the world famous Crucible Theatre, Sheffield, England. It was also in 1977 that the BBC started to provide comprehensive coverage of the event and there have been some memorable TV moments to savour since.

The 1985 final between Dennis Taylor and Steve Davis certainly comes to mind, one of the most keenly contested finals in the history of the game. The match went down to the final ball in the final frame and emotional scenes ensued when the Irishman sank the black to beat Davis and win his first and only World Championship title 18–17.

The 1983 championship meanwhile, is best remembered for Canada’s Cliff Thorburn creating snooker history by compiling the first-ever 147 maximum break at a World Snooker Championship during his second round match against Terry Griffiths.

World Snooker Championship roll of honour

Year Final Result
1977 John Spencer 25-21 Cliff Thorburn
1978 Ray Reardon 25-18 Perrie Mans
1979 Terry Griffiths 24-16 Dennis Taylor
1980 Cliff Thorburn 18-16 Alex Higgins
1981 Steve Davis 18-12 Doug Mountjoy
1982 Alex Higgins 18-15 Ray Reardon
1983 Steve Davis 18-6 Cliff Thorburn
1984 Steve Davis 18-16 Jimmy White
1985 Dennis Taylor 18-17 Steve Davis
1986 Joe Johnson 18-12 Steve Davis
1987 Steve Davis 18-14 Joe Johnson
1988 Steve Davis 18-11 Terry Griffiths
1989 Steve Davis 18-3 John Parrott
1990 Stephen Hendry 18-12 Jimmy White
1991 John Parrott 18-11 Jimmy White
1992 Stephen Hendry 18-14 Jimmy White
1993 Stephen Hendry 18-5 Jimmy White
1994 Stephen Hendry 18-17 Jimmy White
1995 Stephen Hendry 18-9 Nigel Bond
1996 Stephen Hendry 18-12 Peter Ebdon
1997 Ken Doherty 18-12 Stephen Hendry
1998 John Higgins 18-12 Ken Doherty
1999 Stephen Hendry 18-11 Mark Williams
2000 Mark Williams 18-16 Matthew Stevens
2001 Ronnie O’Sullivan 18-14 John Higgins
2002 Peter Ebdon 18-17 Stephen Hendry
2003 Mark Williams 18-16 Ken Doherty
2004 Ronnie O’Sullivan 18-8 Graeme Dott
2005 Shaun Murphy 18-16 Matthew Stevens
2006 Graeme Dott 18-14 Peter Ebdon
2007 John Higgins 18-13 Mark Selby
2008 Ronnie O’Sullivan 18-8 Ali Carter
2009 John Higgins 18-9 Shaun Murphy
2010 Neil Robertson 18-13 Graeme Dott
2011 John Higgins 18-15 Judd Trump
2012 Ronnie O’Sullivan 18-11 Ali Carter
2013 Ronnie O’Sullivan 18-12 Barry Hawkins
2014 Mark Selby 18-14 Ronnie O’Sullivan
2015 Stuart Bingham 18-15 Shaun Murphy
2016 Mark Selby 18-14 Ding Junhui
2017 Mark Selby 18-15 John Higgins
2018 Mark Williams 18-16 John Higgins